Exclusion search with XBench?

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m very new to Xbench, and I went through lots of documentation on the software but could not find the answer to my issue, so I hope to find some help among you, expert users.

I need to launch a search in the source text on one specific term, and need Xbench to display the corresponding target segments which do NOT display a specific word.

I tried with the “-term”-syntax, but it doesn’t work… Have you got an idea?

Ingrid

Hi Ingrid,

If you want to search all segments that contain a term in source but do not have a specific word in target, you need to run a search like the following one:

Source term: "term"
Target term: -"term"

Press Ctrl + P to run a PowerSearch and you will get the results.
If your source or target term consists of more than one word, include the term between quotes.

The following video shows how to use powersearch in Xbench.

I also highly recommend you the following links to get started:

1. Getting Started with Xbench 3.0 playlist (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=caBfzr2FDV0&list=PLUVQmKnkffaq4mKYfU2ZMmyYB0VvleloB), a list of short videos that illustrate from the basics to more advanced options.
  2. Xbench Quick Reference Card in pdf format.

Hi Omartin,

Thank you for this very quick and exhaustive answer! As a matter of fact, I already went through a lot of this documentation and that’s why I am actually able to do quite some interesting things with this great software.

Unfortunately, the search you mentionned doesn’t seem to work: if I run just the target search on, say, “shall”, I do get the segments containing that word in their source part.

But than I add this -“doit”, so that XBench can display only those segments with “shall” in the source but NO “doit” in the target, and I get only an empty screen with both search fields coloring in red.

So I am confused as to what I’m doing wrong… Do you have an idea?

Do you press Ctrl+P instead of pressing Enter to run the search?