Check number formatting

Good day, I am new on this forum but I have been using XBench for two years now for QA. I need help with RegEx to fix my TM.

That’s the story…

In 2016, a long-standing client introduced a style guide for numbers/measures used in their manuals. Before then, they were using the AmE number ‘spelling’, i.e. 34,000 for 34 thousands, 12.15 for 12 units and 15 decimal points. In 2016 they decided to match some technical standard, for which the thousands separator should be a non-breaking space (i.e. 34 000) and the decimal separator should still be the point (12.15). They decided that also the translated manuals should stick to this rule, regardless of the local custom – for example, in my country we use the comma as the decimal separator, but I should stick to the point (no pun intended) for this client.

After 5 years, my TM has a mix of bad sources and bad targets due to these style changes. I would like to fix my TM so that anything I pre-translate is pre-translating according to the new style guide.

I am working with SDL Trados Studio and thus I have exported my TM from *.sdltm to *.tmx.
I have loaded the *.tmx in XBench.
I need to check and edit those TUs that do not match the current style guide. I.e. I need to run a series of check on the target, according to these rules:

• If the number has 5 or more digits, the thousand separator has to be a non-breaking space (i.e. 34 000, however if it has just 4 digits, no space should be used, i.e. 4000)

• If the number has decimals, the decimal separator should be the point and not the comma (i.e. 12.15 is okay, 12,15 is not)

• If the source contains in. the target should contain in. (with the point) as well.

• If the source contains cu.ft. the target should contain cu.ft. (with the points) as well.

• If the source contains L the target should contain L (single letter, capitalized) as well.